Guideline answers · Comparisons

Comparisons · Guideline AI tools

How does Cal compare to Guideline Buddy?

Both answer mortgage guideline questions in a chat. Guideline Buddy says it covers Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA, VA, USDA and non-QM, with a free plan and a $12 a month Premium plan. Cal answers from agency guides and wholesale lender guidelines with the section on each answer, and the effective date where the source states one, at $99 a month after seven days free.

Checked against the sources below on October 29, 2026. Reviewed by Chris Black, NMLS 275073, on November 2, 2026.

Side by side

Each company's details as its own website states them, read on October 29, 2026. Not stated on its website means we did not find it there.
CalGuideline Buddy
Guidelines coveredFannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA, VA and USDA guides, plus wholesale lender guidelinesFannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA, VA and USDA, and non-QM, per its features page
Lender overlaysAnswers from the guideline documents of the wholesale lenders in its library (live count on askcal.io/status)Says it tracks changes to guidelines, including lender overlays
CitationsAnswers cite the source section; with no source, Cal says so instead of answeringBasic plan lists links to original sources
Effective datesShows the effective date; flags a date it cannot source as unconfirmedNot stated on its website
Price$99 per month for one loan officerFree Basic plan; Premium $12 a month or $144 a year; Company plan custom
Trial7 days free, no credit cardFree plan, no card required
Built forIndependent mortgage loan officers and brokersMortgage professionals, including loan officers, brokers, underwriters, sales and compliance managers and product developers

Watch for

Sources

Guideline Buddy, Features

Date shown on the source: Read 2026-10-29

Compare loan eligibility across Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA, VA, and USDA all in one prompt

Guideline Buddy, Pricing

Date shown on the source: Read 2026-10-29

Include links to original sources

askcal.io, What Cal will not do

Date shown on the source: Checked 2026-10-29

It will tell you what the guideline says, which section it came from, and when that section took effect.

askcal.io, Pricing

Date shown on the source: Checked 2026-11-02

No credit card required. Your trial starts at your first verified sign-in.

Your file is never the textbook case. Ask Cal with the borrower's facts and get the agency rule, plus the overlays of the wholesale lenders in Cal's library, each cited to the section.

Try Cal free for 7 days

Related answers